KL CHRONICLE: Free 1 month LRT Ride for KL & Selangor Folks

Sunday, November 1, 2015

Free 1 month LRT Ride for KL & Selangor Folks

Prasarana Malaysia Berhad (Prasarana) – asset owner for Rapid KL’s LRT services, is offering a one-month free ride for commuters traveling within the four new Ampang Line stations, which will be opening for service this Saturday (October 31).

Single journey tokens will be provided for free at the Customer Service Office at Sri Petaling LRT Station and at the four new stations – Awan Besar, Muhibbah, Alam Sutera and Kinrara BK5. Commuters can also use MyRapid Card and Touch ‘n Go transit cards for the free ride.

“We are delighted to announce that Rapid KL will be offering free rides for one month for those traveling between the four new stations. The four stations will be serviced by AMY, our new six-car trains which, would operating on a new signaling system, which is currently being developed for the entire Ampang Line.

“We strongly recommend usage of the MyRapid Cards for traveling convenience within our networks which include both the LRT lines, the Monorail Line and Rapid KL bus network including the Bus Rapid Transit – Sunway Line. One card is all you need,” Prasarana President and Group CEO, Dato’ Azmi Abdul Aziz said in a statement today

In view of the on-going upgrading exercise of the signaling system, the new trains will stop at Sri Petaling station and passengers will need to disembark to continue their journey on the current Line, which runs from Sri Petaling to Sentul Timur.

“Similarly, passengers from the current Ampang Line will need to disembark at Sri Petaling station to continue their journey to the four new stations.” Dato’ Azmi said, adding that the current Ampang Line is still running on the present signaling system.

With the opening of the four new stations, Rapid Bus Sdn Bhd – operator of Rapid KL bus services and a subsidiary of Prasarana – will be providing feeder bus for commuters’ public transport convenience.

The feeder service will be provided via the following routes:-
· Route U73 – Station LRT Awan Besar - OUG – Pasar Seni
· Routes T418 – Station LRT Awan Besar – Station LRT Bukit Jalil – Bandar Sri Petaling
· Route U504 – Station LRT Muhibbah – LRT Awan Besar – Pasar Seni.
· Route T419 – Station LRT Alam Sutera - PPR Pinggiran Bukit Jalil
· Route T507 – Station LRT Kinrara BK 5 – Flet Enggang - IOI Mall.

The bus services, however, is chargeable at normal rates based on the number of zones travelled.
Three AMY trains have been put for this new service and they will provide a frequency of no more than 12 minutes. Prasarana has named its new fleet of six-car trains as AMY, which will eventually replace all of the existing Ampang Line trains. A total of 50 new sets of AMY trains had been procured by Prasarana.

Under the LEP project, which include extension of the LRT Kelana Jaya Line, Ampang Line will have a total of 11 new stations including Awan Besar, Muhibbah, Alam Sutera and Kinrara BK5. The Kelana Jaya Line, which is scheduled to be opened in June next year,

will have 11 stations; connecting the current Kelana Jaya Station to Putra Heights integrated station.
The four new stations are open for service under Phase 1 of the Ampang LRT LEP, which included installation of a new signaling system.
“We are in the process of upgrading the entire Ampang Line with the new signaling system. It is scheduled to be completed fully before the opening the second phase of the Ampang LEP in March, 2016. By then, the entire network will be connected straight to Putra Heights integrated stations,” said Datuk Azmi.

No comments:

Share This


Facebook Popup

Powered by Blog - Widget