KL CHRONICLE: #DemiRakyat Prasarana opens 4 new LRT Station on Thursday

Monday, March 28, 2016

#DemiRakyat Prasarana opens 4 new LRT Station on Thursday

KUALA LUMPUR, 28 March – Less than five months after opening of its four new stations, Prasarana Malaysia Berhad – the project owner of Klang Valley’s LRT Line Extension Project (LEP), is opening four more new stations this Thursday (March 31) within the high-density Puchong township.

With the opening of the new stations - IOI Puchong Jaya, Pusat Bandar Puchong, Taman Perindustrian Puchong and Bandar Puteri, Prasarana has successfully opened eight of the 11 stations under the Ampang LEP, which is constructed concurrently with the extension of the Kelana Jaya Line as part of the LRT Line Extension Project. 

Now promoted as the Sri Petaling Line, which runs fully-elevated as an extension of the Ampang Line after branching out from Chan Sow Lin LRT Station, the remaining three stations - Puchong Perdana, Puchong Prima and the Putra Heights station, will be opened together with all 12 stations under the Kelana Jaya LEP in end of June.

The new and extended Kelana Jaya Line will run from the existing Kelana Jaya LRT Station, through Lembah Subang, Ara Damansara, Glenmarie, Subang Jaya, and USJ towards Putra Heights, which will be an integrated station connecting the Ampang and Kelana Jaya LRT Line extensions.

Like all the 12 new stations under the Kelana Jaya Line, the Puchong Perdana, Puchong Prima and Putra Heights stations are currently are in the final phase of construction and are undergoing the finishing touches. 

Speaking at reporters after a media briefing at IOI Puchong Jaya here today, Prasarana’s President and Group CEO Dato’ Azmi Abdul Aziz said that contractors for the project are currently working on enhancement works involving certain areas at the three stations.   

The first four stations – Awan Besar, Muhibbah, Alam Sutera and Kinrara BK5, were opened on October 31 and had understandably received overwhelming response in view of the high population at the areas and a strong feeder bus service provided by Rapid KL bus services to the stations.

The four new stations is expected to draw in an even bigger ridership in view of the location of the stations and with excellent park and ride facilities provided by three of the new stations – IOI Puchong Jaya, Pusat Bandar Puchong and Taman Perindustrian Puchong.

While IOI Puchong Jaya station houses 470 car park bays including six for the disabled and 95 bays for motorcycles, Pusat Bandar Puchong station houses 122 car park bays including two for disabled and 90 bays motorcycle bays. Taman Perindustrian Puchong station has 350 car park bays including three for the disabled and 164 for motorcycles.

In promoting environmental awareness via cycling, all three stations will also have special parking facilities for bicycle with each station capable to provide parking for 20 bikes. 

Bandar Puteri station has only drop-off facilities due to space limitations. 

Travel between the eight new stations and Sri Petaling station will be serviced by the new six-car AMY trains. Until full migration of the signalling system, commuters would need to change trains at Sri Petaling station. 

Earlier, Prasarana hosted a special train run for the media and the SPAD delegation, which was led by its Chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Jaafar Albar. SPAD is the national regulatory body on public transport matters and has been a strong supporter for the project, along with other government agencies and local authorities. 

Prior to the special run between IOI Puchong Jaya and Bandar Puteri stations, Prasarana President and Group CEO, Dato Azmi Abdul Aziz gave a briefing and updates on the project, which is managed by Prasarana Rail and Infrastructure Projects Sdn Bhd (PRAISE).

No comments:

Share This


Facebook Popup

Powered by Blog - Widget